Skip to content

MGSC Officers 2020-21


President: Alex Lacy

Alex is in her fourth year of graduate school here at UTK. She currently has a Masters in mathematics from the University of Mississippi. Alex is still trying to pinpoint her chosen area of studying applied math, but she’s getting there. Alex is looking forward to her second year in the MGSC. She hopes that she can help her fellow grad students any way that she can. When Alex isn’t doing anything with or for her major, she can be found either singing in the gospel choir, watching anime or just enjoying life her way.

Secretary: Emily Campbell


Treasurer: Andy Gilliam

Andy Gilliam is a third year graduate student in mathematics at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. In 2018, he received his B.S. degree in mathematics from the University of Virginia’s College at Wise where he also obtained a license to teach 6th-12th Mathematics and PreK-12th Theatre Arts. Andy enjoys the areas of Algebra and Topology and his life goal is to be an instructor of mathematics at a small liberal arts college. He also has aspirations of becoming fluent in both Spanish and American Sign Language as well as learning how to play the Piano. When he has free time, Andy likes to crochet, dance in Zumba, and relax with Tai Chi. He is so excited to serve as a member of the Math Graduate Student Council, so if you have any questions or if you want to discuss something with the MGSC, he is more than happy to help!


Former MGSC Officers:

President: Jack Ryan 2019-20

Jack Ryan is a fourth-year graduate student in the Mathematics Department at the University of Tennessee Knoxville. In addition to being the President of the Math Graduate Student Council, he also served as the Vice President of the Graduate Student Senate and the Secretary of OUTGrads. In June 2016, he received dual degrees in mathematics (B.S.) and theatre (B.A.) with a minor in computer science and a concentration in the college scholars honors program from North Central College in Naperville, IL. His long-term career goal includes being a professor of mathematics at a small college or university as well as pursuing a career in higher education administration.

Secretary: Cara Sulyok 2019-20

Cara Sulyok is a fifth-year graduate student in the Mathematics Department at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. In addition to serving as Secretary of the Math Graduate Student Council, she currently serves as President of the campus chapter of the Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) and Vice President of the campus chapter of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM). During the 2018-19 academic year, Cara served as the President of the Graduate Student Senate (GSS) which represents all graduate and professional students of the Knoxville campus. In May 2015, Cara received her B.S. In Mathematics with a minor in statistics and secondary education from Ursinus College in Collegeville, PA. Her interests lie in math biology, particularly the application of mathematics to medicine. Cara is working with Dr. Judy Day and Dr. Suzanne Lenhart to mathematically model the immune response in individuals suffering from celiac disease.




President: Maggie Wieczorek (2018-19)

Maggie is a fifth-year graduate student, working toward her Ph.D. Her math interests lie in algebra, particularly modular forms and their relationship with various combinatorial objects. Maggie is honored to take on the role of president of the council this year after serving as treasurer for two years. Outside of math, Maggie can usually be found baking something yummy, reading, or (slowly) learning how to play video games.


President: Mark Bly (2017-18)

Mark is in his fourth year as a PhD student at UTK. He is working with Dr. Mulay on algebraic geometry relating to embedded hyperplanes and isomorphisms of affine coordinate rings. He has also done work with Dr. Wagner on enumerative combinatorics related to vector spaces over finite fields. Prior to attending UTK, Mark spent seven years teaching in a high school setting, with five of those years working in some administrative capacity. This experience has laid the foundation for making the most of his time here at UTK, both through productively fulfilling departmental teaching duties as a GTA and through constructively finding ways to improve departmental grad student life as a member of the MGSC.


Secretary: James Scott (2017-18)


President: Darrin Weber (2016-17)

Darrin is in his sixth and final year of the Ph.D. program here at UTK. He is working with Dr. David Anderson on zero-divisor graphs of commutative rings. He will also obtain a Master in Stats through the university's IGSP (Intercollegiate Graduate Statistics Program). Darrin is one of the co-founding members of the MGSC and is proud of the work the MGSC has already done. However, he is excited about the possibilities this council has to further improve the graduate student experience, as well as the Department of Mathematics as a whole. When Darrin isn't working, he enjoys spending time with his amazing wife and incredible six-year-old daughter. 


last updated: October 2020

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.