Math 472 - Course Outline

Lecture Number Date Material Assignment
1 Thur Jan 11 1.2 Roundoff Error and Computer Arithmetic (Details)
Everything about Computer Arithmetic (ps)
Computer Arithmetic Tragedies
Class Syllabus (Postcript) (PDF)
2 Tues Jan 16 1.3 Algorithms and Convergence (Details)
Condition and Stability Handout (Postcript) (PDF)
HW #1
Project Information
3 Thur Jan 18 6.1 Linear Systems of Equations (Details)  
4 Tues Jan 23 6.1 (continued) HW #2     HW #1 Due
Numerical Analysis Haiku Project
5 Thur Jan 25 6.2 Pivoting Strategies (Details) Interactive GE with Pivoting (Matlab File 1) (Matlab File 2)
6 Tues Jan 30 6.5 Matrix Factorization (Details) HW #3     HW #2 Due
7 Thur Feb 1 6.6 Special Types of Matrices (Details)  
8 Tues Feb 6 7.1 Norms of Vectors and Matrices (Details)
7.4 Condition Number
HW #4     HW #3 Due
9 Thur Feb 8 Stability of GE, 7.3 Iterative Techniques (Details) Test Problems for Projects (Postcript) (PDF)
10 Tues Feb 13 7.3 Analysis of Iterative Techniques (Details) HW #5     HW #4 Due
11 Thur Feb 15 7.4 Error Estimates and Iterative Refinement (Details) Project #1 Due
12 Tues Feb 20 9.1 Linear Algebra and Eigenvalues (Details) HW #6     HW #5 Due
13 Thur Feb 22 9.2 The Power Method (Details)  
14 Tues Feb 27 9.3 Householder's Method (Details) HW #6 Due
15 Thur Mar 1 Catchup/Review Day  
16 Tues Mar 6 MIDTERM  
17 Thur Mar 8 2.1 The Bisection Method (Details) Exam for Graduating Seniors
HW #7
18 Tues Mar 13 2.2 Fixed-Point Iteration (Details)  
19 Thur Mar 15 2.3 The Newton-Raphson Method (Details) HW #8     HW #7 Due
Midterm Exam Solutions (Postcript) (PDF)
20 Tues Mar 27 2.4 Error Analysis for Iterative Methods (Details)  
21 Thur Mar 29 2.4 (continued) HW #9     HW #8 Due
Project #2 Due
22 Tues Apr 3 2.5 Accelerating Convergence (Details)  
23 Thur Apr 5 2.6 Zeros of Polynomials and Muller's Method (Details)
Information about polynomials (Postcript) (PDF)
HW #9 Due
Bonus Homework Problems (Postcript) (PDF)
24 Tues Apr 10 10.1 Fixed Points for Functions of Several Variables (Details) HW #10
Information about Brent's Algorithm (text)
25 Thur Apr 12 10.2 Newton's Method (Details)  
26 Tues Apr 17 10.3 Quasi-Newton Methods (Details) HW #11     HW #10 Due
Project #3 Due
27 Thur Apr 19 10.4 Steepest Descent Techniques (Details)  
28 Tues Apr 24 Review, Final Exam Info: (Postcript) (PDF) HW #11 Due
29 Thur Apr 26 Review Bonus HW, Project #4 and Bonus Projects Due
Thur May 3 FINAL EXAM 12:30-2:30  

Return Home

ccollins@math.utk.edu
Last Modified: March 5, 2001