Math 471 - Course Outline

Lecture Number Date Material Assignment
1 Thur Aug 24 1.1 Review of Calculus (Read on your own) (Details)
1.2 Roundoff Error and Computer Arithmetic (Details)
Everything about Computer Arithmetic (ps)
Read 1.1, esp. about Taylor and MVT
2 Tues Aug 29 1.3 Algorithms and Convergence (Details) HW #1 (parallelpiped = BOX)
3 Thur Aug 31 3.1 Interpolation and the Lagrange Polynomial (Details)
Info on Polynomials (ps) (pdf)
 
4 Tues Sep 5 3.2 Divided Differences (Details)  
5 Thur Sep 7 3.3 Hermite Interpolation (Details)
Graph of Runge Function and Interpolants (B&W PS) (Color PS) (JPEG)
 
6 Tues Sep 12 3.4 Cubic Spline Interpolation (Details) HW #2     HW #1 Due
7 Thur Sep 14 3.4 Cubic Spline Interpolation (conclusion) (Details)  
8 Tues Sep 19 8.1 Discrete Least Squares Approximation (Details)  
9 Thur Sep 21 8.2 Orthogonal Polynomials and Least Squares Approximation (Details)  
10 Tues Sep 26 8.5 Trigonometric Polynomial Approximation (Details) HW #3     HW #2 Due
11 Thur Sep 28 4.1 Numerical Differentiation (Details) *** Project Information ***
12 Tues Oct 3 4.2 Richardson's Extrapolation (Details)  
13 Thur Oct 5 4.3 Elements of Numerical Integration (Details)  
14 Tues Oct 10 4.4 Composite Numerical Integration (Details) HW #4     HW #3 Due
15 Tues Oct 17 4.5 Romberg Integration (Details) Information about the Midterm
(Postscript) (PDF)
16 Thur Oct 19 4.6 Adative Quadrature Methods (Details)  
17 Tues Oct 24 4.7 Gaussian Quadrature (Details) HW #4 Due
18 Thur Oct 26 MIDTERM  
19 Tues Oct 31 5.1 The Elementary Theory of Initial-Value Problems (Details)
5.2 Euler's Method (Details)
HW #5
20 Thur Nov 2 5.3 Higher-Order Taylor Methods (Details)  
21 Tues Nov 7 5.4 Runge-Kutta Methods (theory) (Details)  
22 Thur Nov 9 5.4 Runge-Kutta Methods (examples) (Details) Project #1 Due
23 Tues Nov 14 5.5 Error Control and the Runge-Kutta-Fehlberg Method (Details) HW #6     HW #5 Due
24 Thur Nov 16 5.6 Multistep Methods (Details)  
25 Tues Nov 21 5.9 Higher-Order Equations and Systems of Differential Equations (Details)  
26 Tues Nov 28 5.10 Stability (Details) HW #7     HW #6 Due
27 Thur Nov 30 11.1 The Linear Shooting Method (Details)  
28 Tues Dec 5 11.2 The Shooting Method for Nonlinear Problems (Details)  
29 Thur Dec 7 11.3 Finite-Difference Methods for Linear Problems (Details) Rest of Projects Due
Information about the Final
(Postscript) (PDF)
Tues Dec 12 HW #7 Due (in my office by 5:00)
Thur Dec 14 FINAL EXAM 12:30-2:30  

Return Home

ccollins@math.utk.edu
Last Modified: September 14, 2000