Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

Mathematics Department

Frequently Used Tools:

Welcome to the University of Tennessee Department of Mathematics

The department's mission is the discovery and dissemination of pure and applied mathematics, including, but not limited to, algebra, analysis, differential geometry, mathematical ecology, numerical analysis, ordinary and partial differential equations, probability, scientific computing, and topology.

Our faculty publish numerous books and research articles and regularly present their research at major conferences and symposia. Many hold research grants from national agencies and several serve on editorial boards for journals and as officers in important mathematical and scientific organizations. We teach a complete spectrum of mathematics courses. We offer a comprehensive undergraduate program, a nationally recognized honors program for undergraduates, a summer Research Experience for Undergraduates, and several graduate programs leading to masters and doctoral degrees. Many of our faculty have won teaching awards. Our service to the community includes running the annual UT/Pro2Serve Math Contest for high school students, and hosting Barrett Lectures and other conferences.

Upcoming Events

  • Fall grade entry opens, Wednesday, Dec. 3. Grades must be submitted by 8 am, Tuesday, Dec. 16.
  • Exams, Thursday-Thursday, Dec. 4-5, 8-11
  • Math 119 & 130 Common Finals: 8-10 am, Thursday, Dec. 4
  • Commencement, Saturday, Dec. 13

Departmental News

Thanksgiving Holiday, Thurs. & Fri., Nov. 27-28

Classes end, Tuesday, Dec. 2

Study Day, Wednesday, Dec. 3

Final Exam Schedule

UT Pro2Serve Math Contest

Congratulations to Professor Remus Nicoara for receiving an Arts & Science Advising Award. Congratulations to Professors Vasilis Maroulas and Steve Wise on receiving the College of Arts & Sciences Convocation Research Awards.

Honors Day 2014 Program & Photos

Mathematics Department
Strategic Plan

UT Inclement Weather - Open/Close Schedule

Awards & Announcements
*Stefan Richter, Cunningham Outstanding Teacher Award, 2013
*David Anderson, Robert Daverman, Suzanne Lenhart, and Stefan Richter named 2013 AMS Fellows
*Vasilis Maroulas Awarded Leverhulme Trust Fellowship 2012